First Coast News is reporting that the FHP has started a month-long campaign to make drivers aware of the state’s Move Over Law.
What is the law?
Drivers must move over at least one lane from the shoulder when a patrol car, emergency vehicle and/or tow truck is stopped on the side of a road with lights flashing. If they cannot move over safely, drivers should slow down to a speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit. If you are caught violating this law it is a $164 fine and points on your license.
Why have this law?
Since 1999, more than 200 law enforcement officers in the U.S have died and thousands injured in a crash as a result of being hit while on the side of the road doing their job. œFlorida’s Move Over law was enacted in 2002 to safeguard Florida’s emergency responders who are out on the roadways every day working to protect you and your families, said Col. David Brierton, director of the Florida Highway Patrol. Those caught violating the law may face costly fines and court fees as well as adding 3 points to their driver’s license.
During a month-long campaign to enforce Florida’s œMove Over law in 2012, the FHP said their troopers handed out more than 1,200 tickets for ˜move over’ violations.
Related Stories: Florida Highway Patrol Warns Halloween Revelers of Drunk Driving Ticketing Campaign Oct. 31-Nov. 3 & Crosswalks & Pedestrian Safety
Photo Credit: here