Skip to Content
Available 24/7. Call Us Today! 904-295-1050

Personal Injury Compensation in the State of Florida


Are you seeking personal injury compensation in Florida? Whether you have been injured in a vehicle crash, slip and fall, or by a defective product, most accident cases follow the same basic procedure. Medical malpractice and wrongful death claims can sometime fall under a different set of statutes and require more intensive investigation. Nevertheless, the experienced and award-winning Jacksonville attorneys at Edwards & Ragatz, P.A. will be able to maximize the amount of compensation you can receive. Contact our office to learn more.

Personal Injury Compensation in Florida | Comparative Negligence

In Florida, we follow the pure comparative negligence rules. That means you will be able to receive compensation even when the accident that injured you was partially your fault. You can collect compensation even if you are found to be 99% at fault. The only way you will be barred from collection compensation is if you are deemed to be 100% at fault for the accident. The way fault works is, when you are deemed to be partially at fault, then you will have a reduced compensation award. For example, if slip and fall is the personal injury that you are filing for, and you were distracted on your phone when you slipped in a puddle at a store, you may be deemed 10% at fault for your injuries. If you were compensated $10,000, you would have a 10% reduction in compensation making your reward $9,000. Our Jacksonville personal injury attorneys work hard to keep the insurance companies from blaming you for the accident so that you can receive full compensation.

Get Our Free Personal Injury Guide

Personal Injury Compensation in Florida | Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations is the amount of time in which you have to file your personal injury case. These personal injury cases can vary in amounts of time you have. For instance, you may not have as much time for a medical malpractice case or an accident with a municipality. Generally speaking, you will have four years to bring your case. The best thing you can do for your case is hire an attorney right away. Your attorney will make sure all your evidence is collected, your witnesses have been spoken to, and your medical treatment is being completed all the while making sure you are adhering to the time constraints.

If you have been seriously injured by someone else’s negligence, please do not hesitate to call our Jacksonville personal injury attorneys. Call us today to set up a free consultation.

Share To:

Tell Us Your Story

Edwards & Ragatz is Here to Relentlessly Pursue Your Justice
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy