If you have been struck by a vehicle while riding a bike in Florida, it’s only right that you seek compensation from the negligent party. You deserve to be reimbursed for the damages you’ve suffered, and our personal injury attorneys would be happy to take on your case. There are a few statutes and guidelines that you should be aware of when filing a bike accident claim in Florida, so read this article first before calling our office for a free consultation.
Get Our Free Bicycle Accident Guide
Filing a Bike Accident Claim in Florida | Comparative Negligence
Florida follows the rules of pure comparative negligence which has to do with shared fault in an accident. If for some reason you are deemed to be at fault, know that you are allowed to collect your compensation award if you are 0-99% at fault for your accident. If you are 100% at fault, then you would be barred from receiving compensation. If you are less than 100% at fault, you will have your award reduce to account for that fault. For example, if you have been awarded $100,000 for your injuries and damages, but you have also been deemed 20% liable for the accident for something you did wrong, then you would be able to collect $80,000.
Filing a Bike Accident Claim in Florida | Contact Our Office
When you are severely injured on your bicycle, do not hesitate to call our office for a free case evaluation. Our Jacksonville bicycle accident attorneys will go over the details of your case to determine what is the best step for you to take legally to get the most possible compensation for your injuries and damages. We are dedicated, experienced, and eager to take on this case for you. Please call Edwards & Ragatz, PA today and we will get working for you right away.